Practice high-yield Computer Science & IT MCQs on Ms Excel — Part 1 with worked academic solutions for PPSC, FPSC, CSS, PMS, NTS.
Questions
40
Difficulty Level
Exam-Level
Target Exams
PPSC, FPSC, CSS...
Estimated Time
48 mins
Exam-Level PPSC FPSC CSS PMS NTS
Verified for Commission Syllabus • Oct 14, 2026
40
Verified Practice Questions
Interactive test mode with detailed academic worked solutions
Live Progress|0/40 answered
✓0 correct
✗0 wrong
0% score
🎉 Set complete! All 40 questions answered.
Question 1 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which of the following format you can decide to apply or not in AutoFormat dialog box?
Correct Answer: Option D — All of above
Detailed Academic Explanation:
AutoFormat option in excel is a unique way of formatting data quickly, the first step is we need to select the entire data we need to format and then the second step we need to click on auto-format from the QAT and third step we need to choose the format from the different options.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 2 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
How can you remove borders applied in cells?
Correct Answer: Option C — Both of above
Detailed Academic Explanation:
On the Home tab, in the Font group, click the arrow next to Borders Button, and then click No Border Button. --OR-- Click Home > the Borders arrow > Erase Border, and then select the cells with the border you want to erase.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 3 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Where can you set the shading color for a range of cells in Excel?
Correct Answer: Option D — All of above
Detailed Academic Explanation:
The formatting and Drawing toolbar is a toolbar in Microsoft Office 2003 and earlier applications, that gives the user the ability to change the formatting of selected text or cell.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 4 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
You can set Page Border in Excel from
Correct Answer: Option D — You can not set page border in Excel
Detailed Academic Explanation:
There is no option to set page border in Excel.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 5 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
When all the numbers between 0 and 100 in a range should be displayed in Red Color, apply
Correct Answer: Option B — Apply Conditional Formatting command on Format menu
Detailed Academic Explanation:
A conditional format changes the appearance of cells on the basis of conditions that you specify. If the conditions are true, the cell range is formatted; if the conditions are false, the cell range is not formatted.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 6 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
You can check the conditions against __________ when applying conditional formatting
Correct Answer: Option C — Both of above
Detailed Academic Explanation:
We can check the conditions against Cell value or Formula when applying conditional formatting.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 7 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which of the following is not true regarding Conditional Formatting?
Correct Answer: Option B — You can set condition to look for Bold and apply Italics on them
Detailed Academic Explanation:
In Conditional Formatting we cannot set condition to look for Bold and apply Italics on them.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 8 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which of the following is invalid statement?
Correct Answer: Option D — The width of a row and be specified manually or fit automatically
Detailed Academic Explanation:
The width of a row and be specified manually or fit automatically is invalid statement.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 9 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
You can use the formula palette to
Correct Answer: Option B — Create and edit formula containing functions
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Formula palette is used to create and edit formula. It is also possible to type a function directly into a cell, however, as there are over 300 functions built into Microsoft Excel, some of which are quite complex, Excel provides the Formula Palette to simplify the process.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 10 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
When a range is selected, how can you activate the previous cell?
Correct Answer: Option D — None of above
Detailed Academic Explanation:
To go to previous cell we use Go To function Ctrl + G.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 11 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which tool you will use to join some cells and place the content at the middle of joined cell?
Correct Answer: Option C — From Format Cells dialog box choose Merge and Center check box
Detailed Academic Explanation:
To join some cells and place the content at the middle of the joined cell in MS Excel, you need to use the "Merge and Center" feature. This can be done by selecting the cells you want to merge, then going to the Format Cells dialog box. Within this dialog box, you'll find the option to Merge and Center . By choosing this option, the selected cells will be merged into one and the content will be placed at the middle of the merged cell. This ensures a visually appealing layout for your data.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 12 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Tab scroll buttons are place on Excel screen
Correct Answer: Option B — Towards the bottom left corner
Detailed Academic Explanation:
On the bottom left of the worksheet we find the Sheet Tab Scroll Buttons to move to the First sheet, Previous sheet, Next sheet, and Last sheet. They are followed by the tabs for the worksheets in our workbook and the Insert Worksheet button or tab, depending on the version of Excel we are using.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 13 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
The Name box on to the left of formula bar
Correct Answer: Option C — Shows the name of cell or range currently working on
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Name Box refers to an input box directly to the left of the formula bar. The Name Box normally displays the address of the "active cell" on the worksheet. You can also use the name box to quickly create a named range.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 14 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Each excel file is a workbook that contains different sheets. Which of the following can not be a sheet in workbook?
Correct Answer: Option D — Data sheet
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Data sheet can not be a sheet in workbook.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 15 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which of the following is not the correct method of editing the cell content?
Correct Answer: Option A — Press the Alt key
Detailed Academic Explanation:
A cell can be edited through Press the F2 key or Click the formula bar or Double click the cell.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 16 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
You can merge the main document with data source in Excel. In mail merge operation, Word is usually
Correct Answer: Option C — Client
Detailed Academic Explanation:
You can merge the main document with data source in Excel. In mail merge operation, Word is usually Client
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 17 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
How can you update the values of formula cells if Auto Calculate mode of Excel is disabled?
Correct Answer: Option B — F9
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Manual calculation mode means that Excel will only recalculate all open workbooks when we request it by pressing F9. It allows to choose whether we want to update formulas in worksheets or entire workbook.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 18 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
You want to set such that when you type Baishakh and drag the fill handle, Excel should produce Jestha, Aashadh and so on. What will you set to effect that?
Correct Answer: Option A — Custom List
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Use a Custom list to sort or fill in a user-defined order. Excel provides day-of-the-week and month-of-the year built-in lists, but we can also create your own custom list. For Excel 2010 and later , click File > Options > Advanced > General > Edit Custom Lists. For Excel 2007 , click the Microsoft Office Button Office button > Excel Options > Popular >Top options for working with Excel > Edit Custom Lists.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 19 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Where can you change automatic or manual calculation mode in Excel?
Correct Answer: Option B — Go to File > Options > Formulas > Calculation Option - and mark the corresponding radio button
Detailed Academic Explanation:
When you press F9 or click Calc Sheet on the Calculation tab on the Tools/Options menu. Calculation also occurs every time that you save the file if you have the checkbox "Recalculate workbook before saving" checked under File > Options > Formulas.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 20 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
How can you show or hide the gridlines in Excel Worksheet?
Correct Answer: Option C — Both of above
Detailed Academic Explanation:
In Excel 2016, 2013, 2010, 2007, click on View > Show > Gridlines For Excel 2003 and Earlier: Navigate to Tools > Options or Click Gridline tool on Forms toolbar.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 21 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which of the following Excel screen components can NOT be turned on or off?
Correct Answer: Option D — None of above
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Show Formula bar option by clicking the File (or Office button) > Options > Advanced > Display > Show Formula bar. In earlier versions of Excel, you could hide the status bar if you wanted more space available for your worksheets. However, that capability was removed starting with Excel 2007. In earlier versions of Excel, you could hide the tool bar as per requirement. However, that capability was removed starting with Excel 2007 and introduced Ribbon.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 22 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
What happens when you press Ctrl + X after selecting some cells in Excel?
Correct Answer: Option B — The cells selected are marked for cutting
Detailed Academic Explanation:
When we pressing the ctrl+x in the Microsoft excel sheet it means we cut the content from that cell simply means the cells selected are marked for cutting and the user has need to move the content from one cell to another cell.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 23 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which of the following option is not available in Paste Special dialog box?
Correct Answer: Option D — SQRT
Detailed Academic Explanation:
To use options from the Paste Special box, click Home > Paste > Paste Special.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 24 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which command will you choose to convert a column of data into row?
Correct Answer: Option B — Paste Special > Transpose
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Transpose (rotate) data from rows to columns or vice versa. To use options from the Paste Special box, click Home > Paste > Paste Special > Transpose
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 25 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
It is acceptable to let long text flow into adjacent cells on a worksheet when
Correct Answer: Option B — No data will be entered in the adjacent cells
Detailed Academic Explanation:
When there is no data in in the adjacent cells, long text flows into adjacent cells on a worksheet. As soon as data is entered into in the adjacent cells, text will be visible upto cell length in which data is entered, For full visibility of data either we need to increase the length of cell or wrap text in particular cell.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 26 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which of the cell pointer indicates you that you can make selection?
Correct Answer: Option A — Doctor’s symbol (Big Plus)
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Doctor’s symbol (Big Plus) indicates we that we can make selection to cell.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 27 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which of the cell pointer indicates that you can fill series?
Correct Answer: Option B — Small thin plus icon
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Small thin plus icon cell pointer indicates that you can fill series.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 28 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which of the cell pointer indicate that you can move the content to other cell?
Correct Answer: Option C — Mouse Pointer with anchor at the tip
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Mouse Pointer with anchor at the tip cell pointer indicate that you can move the content to other cell.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 29 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
You can auto fit the width of column by
Correct Answer: Option C — Double clicking on column right border on column header
Detailed Academic Explanation:
You can auto fit the width of column by double clicking on column right border on column header.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 30 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Long text can be broken down into many lines within a cell. You can do this through
Correct Answer: Option A — Wrap Text in Format > Cells
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Microsoft Excel can wrap text so it appears on multiple lines in a cell. We can format the cell so the text wraps automatically, or enter a manual line break. On the Home tab, in the Alignment group, click Wrap Text.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 31 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
MS Excel provides the default value for step in Fill Series dialog box
Correct Answer: Option B — 1
Detailed Academic Explanation:
The default value for any series is 1 in Excel.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 32 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
When a row of data is to be converted into columns
Correct Answer: Option D — Select the cells then place the cell pointer on new cell and choose Paste Special, mark Transpose check box and click OK
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Transpose (rotate) data from rows to columns or vice versa. To use options from the Paste Special box, click Home > Paste > Paste Special > Transpose Select the cells then place the cell pointer on new cell and choose Paste Special, mark Transpose check box and click OK
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 33 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Ctrl + D shortcut key in Excel will
Correct Answer: Option C — Fill down in the selection
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Ctrl+D fills the cell beneath with the contents of the selected cell in a column. To fill more than one cell, select the source cell and press Ctrl+Shift+Down to select all cells. Then press Ctrl+D to fill them with the contents of the original cell.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 34 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
The shortcut key Ctrl + R is used in Excel to
Correct Answer: Option C — Fill the selection with active cells to the right
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Ctrl+R fills the row cell to the right with the contents of the selected cell. To fill more than one cell, select the source cell and press Ctrl+Shift+Right arrow to select multiple cells. Then press Ctrl+R to fill them with the contents of the original cell.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 35 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
The command Edit > Fill Across Worksheet is active only when
Correct Answer: Option B — When many sheets are selected
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Click the Fill button in the Editing group, and then click Across Worksheet a command only appears when we have multiple worksheets selected.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 36 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which of the following series type is not valid for Fill Series dialog box?
Correct Answer: Option D — Time
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Time series type is not valid for Fill Series dialog box in excel.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 37 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which of the following you can paste selectively using Paste Special command?
Correct Answer: Option D — All of above
Detailed Academic Explanation:
We can paste formula, value, formats, comments, validation using Paste Special command.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 38 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Paste Special allows some operation while you paste to new cell. Which of the following operation is valid?
Correct Answer: Option D — Divide
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Paste Special allows Divide operation while you paste to new cell.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 39 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Edit > Delete command
Correct Answer: Option D — Deletes selected cells
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Deletes selected cells through Edit > Delete command was available in Excel 2003 and earlier versions.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 40 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
To remove the content of selected cells you must issue ______ command
Correct Answer: Option B — Clear Contents
Detailed Academic Explanation:
To remove the content of selected cells we must issue Clear Contents command. Clear Contents will clear only the data, will not clear any formats.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
✓Link copied to clipboard
Continue Your Practice
Advanced Mapreduce Concepts — Part 1
Master the next curriculum module with 40 exam-standard MCQs.
In competitive commission exams (FPSC, PPSC, KPPSC, SPSC, CSS, PMS), questions are frequently phrased with distractor options designed to catch rote learners. Whenever you answer an MCQ, read the Detailed Academic Explanation and Conceptual Anchor to understand why the remaining options are incorrect.