Practice high-yield Computer Science & IT MCQs on Ms Excel — Part 2 with worked academic solutions for PPSC, FPSC, CSS, PMS, NTS.
Questions
40
Difficulty Level
Exam-Level
Target Exams
PPSC, FPSC, CSS...
Estimated Time
48 mins
Exam-Level PPSC FPSC CSS PMS NTS
Verified for Commission Syllabus • Oct 14, 2026
40
Verified Practice Questions
Interactive test mode with detailed academic worked solutions
Live Progress|0/40 answered
✓0 correct
✗0 wrong
0% score
🎉 Set complete! All 40 questions answered.
Question 1 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
The Delete key of keyboard is assigned to which command in Excel?
Correct Answer: Option A — Edit > Clear > Contents
Detailed Academic Explanation:
The Delete key of keyboard is assigned to Clear Contents command in Excel. Clear Contents will clear only the data, will not clear any formats.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 2 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
If you need to remove only the formatting done in a range (numbers and formula typed there should not be removed), you must
Correct Answer: Option A — From Edit menu choose Clear and then Formats
Detailed Academic Explanation:
If we need to remove only the formatting done in a range, we must use From Edit menu choose Clear and then Formats.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 3 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
By default Excel provides 3 worksheets. You need only two of them, how will you delete the third one?
Correct Answer: Option A — Right click on Sheet Tab of third sheet and choose Delete from the context menu
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Right-click the tab and choose Delete from its shortcut menu in All version of excel. In Microsoft Excel 2010 onwards Choose Home > Delete > Delete Sheet on the Ribbon, press Alt+HDS Microsoft Excel 2007 and earlier Press ‘ALT’ + ‘E’, then the ‘L’ key.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 4 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which of the following action removes a sheet from workbook?
Correct Answer: Option A — Select the sheet, then choose Edit > Delete Sheet
Detailed Academic Explanation:
To removes a sheet from workbook select the sheet, then choose Edit > Delete Sheet these options available in excel 2003 and earlier version. In Microsoft Excel 2007 onward Choose Home > Delete > Delete Sheet on the Ribbon.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 5 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
While Finding and Replacing some data in Excel, which of the following statement is valid?
Correct Answer: Option A — You can Find and Replace within the sheet or workbook
Detailed Academic Explanation:
In Excel we can Find and Replace within the sheet or workbook.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 6 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which of the following is not true about Find and Replace in Excel
Correct Answer: Option A — You can search for bold and replace with italics
Detailed Academic Explanation:
You can search for bold and replace with italics is the correct answer to “Which of the following is not true about Find and Replace in Excel”. This question is standard in competitive examination syllabi for Ms Excel.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 7 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
You can move a sheet from one workbook into new book by
Correct Answer: Option C — From Edit menu choose Move or Copy then select (new book) from To Book list and click OK
Detailed Academic Explanation:
From Edit menu choose Move or Copy then select (new book) from To Book list and click OK
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 8 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
What is the shortcut key to replace a data with another in sheet?
Correct Answer: Option C — Ctrl + H
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Ctrl + H shortcut key is usedto replace a data with another in sheet.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 9 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Comments can be added to cells using ________
Correct Answer: Option D — Review > Comments
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Comments can be added to cells using Review > Comment .
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 10 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which menu option can be used to split windows into two?
Correct Answer: Option B — View > Window > Split
Detailed Academic Explanation:
View > Window > Split option can be used to split windows into two.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 11 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Getting data from a cell located in a different sheet is called ________
Correct Answer: Option B — Referencing
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Getting data from a cell located in a different sheet is called Cell reference. There are Three types of Cell reference in Excel Relative Absolute Mixed
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 12 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which of the following is not a valid data type in Excel?
Correct Answer: Option B — Character
Detailed Academic Explanation:
There are Three types of data in cells: labels, values, and formulas. Labels (text) are descriptive pieces of information, such as names, months, or other identifying statistics, and they usually include alphabetic characters. Values (numbers) are generally raw numbers or dates. Formulas are instructions for Excel to perform calculations.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 13 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which elements of a worksheet can be protected from accidental modification?
Correct Answer: Option D — All of the above
Detailed Academic Explanation:
All elements of a worksheet can be protected from accidental modification. To protect a worksheet in Excel 2007 and higher versions, click the Review tab, click Protect Worksheet (or Protect Sheet), and click OK. Excel 2003 and Earlier Versions click Tools > Protection, click Protect Sheet, and click OK.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 14 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
A numeric value can be treated as label value if ________ precedes it.
Correct Answer: Option A — Apostrophe ( ‘ )
Detailed Academic Explanation:
An apostrophe before a cell value forces Excel to interpret the value as text. This is mostly useful for values that look like a number or date.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 15 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Concatenation of text can be done using
Correct Answer: Option D — Ampersand ( & )
Detailed Academic Explanation:
The ampersand (&) calculation operator allow us join text items without using a function. For example, =A1 & B1 will return the same value as =CONCATENATE(A1,B1). In many cases, using the ampersand operator is quicker and simpler than using CONCATENATE to create strings.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 16 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which area in an Excel window allows entering values and formulas?
Correct Answer: Option C — Formula Bar
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Formula Bar area in an Excel window allows entering values and formulas. Formula Bar is a toolbar at the top of the Microsoft Excel spreadsheet window that we can use to enter or copy an existing formula in to cells or charts. It is labeled with function symbol (fx). By clicking the Formula Bar, or when you type an equal (=) symbol in a cell, the Formula Bar will activate.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 17 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Multiple calculations can be made in a single formula using ________
Correct Answer: Option B — Array Formula
Detailed Academic Explanation:
An array formula is a formula that can perform multiple calculations on one or more of the items in an array. We can think of an array as a row of values, a column of values, or a combination of rows and columns of values. Array formulas can return either multiple results or a single result. For example, we can create an array formula in a range of cells and use the array formula to calculate a column or row of subtotals. We can also place an array formula in a single cell and calculate a single amount. An array formula that includes multiple cells is called a multi-cell formula, and an array formula in a single cell is called a single-cell formula.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 18 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
An Excel Workbook is a collection of ________
Correct Answer: Option D — Worksheets and Charts
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Think of an Excel Workbook like a notebook . Option A: Workbooks - A Workbook can't be a collection of itself! That doesn't make sense. Option B: Worksheets - Worksheets are like individual pages in your notebook. You can have many of them. Option C: Charts - Charts are visual representations of your data , like graphs. They are part of what you can put in your workbook. Option D: Worksheets and Charts - This is the best answer. A Workbook contains both the data tables (worksheets) *and* the visual representations (charts) that help you understand that data. It's like your notebook having both tables of information *and* graphs to make it easier to see the trends.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 19 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
What do you mean by a Workspace?
Correct Answer: Option D — Group of Workbooks
Detailed Academic Explanation:
The term workspace refers to all the open workbooks and their exact screen position and window sizes. A workspace contains pointers to your other Excel files that you had open during your session. When you open an Excel workspace all the other files are opened as well Workspaces are particularly useful if you frequently work with the same set of files and need to have them all open at once.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 20 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
MS-EXCEL is based on ________
Correct Answer: Option A — WINDOWS
Detailed Academic Explanation:
MS-Excel is based on Windows. MS-Excel is a spreadsheet developed by Microsoft for Windows and few other operating systems. It is a program that stores and retrieves numerical data in rows and columns of grid format.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 21 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
In EXCEL, you can sum a large range of data by simply selecting a tool button called ________.
Correct Answer: Option C — Auto sum
Detailed Academic Explanation:
AutoSum is a Microsoft Excel function that adds together a range of cells and displays the total in the cell below the selected range.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 22 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
To select an entire column in MS-EXCEL, press?
Correct Answer: Option D — None of the above
Detailed Academic Explanation:
To select an entire column in MS-EXCEL, Click the column heading letter or press CTRL + Space Bar key.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 23 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
To return the remainder after a number is divided by a divisor in EXCEL we use the function?
Correct Answer: Option C — MOD ( )
Detailed Academic Explanation:
The MOD function in Excel is used to find remainder after division of one number (dividend) by another (divisor). In mathematics, this operation is called the modulo operation or modulus, hence the name MOD.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 24 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which function is not available in the Consolidate dialog box?
Correct Answer: Option A — Pmt
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Pmt is the correct answer to “Which function is not available in the Consolidate dialog box”. This question is standard in competitive examination syllabi for Ms Excel.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 25 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which is not the function of "Edit, Clear" command?
Correct Answer: Option C — Delete cells
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Delete cells is the correct answer to “Which is not the function of "Edit, Clear" command”. This question is standard in competitive examination syllabi for Ms Excel.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 26 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Microsoft Excel is a powerful ________
Correct Answer: Option B — Spreadsheet package
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Microsoft Excel is Microsoft's general-purpose spreadsheet program for Windows, used for data analysis and display. It is commonly used in a business environment since it is part of the Microsoft Office package. Microsoft Excel is an extremely powerful tool, which is used by millions of people everyday. Functions tailored to a specific task can be programmed into Excel to extend its capabilities with customised analysis tools.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 27 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
How do you rearrange the data in ascending or descending order?
Correct Answer: Option A — Data, Sort
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Sorting data in MS Excel rearranges the rows based on the contents of a particular column. We can also sort a table to put names in alphabetical order or ascending or descending order. Or, maybe we want to sort data by Amount from smallest to largest or largest to smallest.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 28 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which Chart can be created in Excel?
Correct Answer: Option D — All of the above
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Excel offers the following major chart types − Column Chart Line Chart Pie Chart Doughnut Chart Bar Chart Area Chart XY (Scatter) Chart Bubble Chart Stock Chart Surface Chart Radar Chart Combo Chart
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 29 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
What will be the output if you format the cell containing 5,436.8 as '#,##0.00' ?
Correct Answer: Option B — 5436.80
Detailed Academic Explanation:
'#,##0.00' = 5436.80
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 30 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
How do you display current date and time in MS Excel?
Correct Answer: Option C — Now ()
Detailed Academic Explanation:
DATE - returns the serial date value for a date TODAY - returns today's date NOW - returns the current date and time TIME - assemble a proper time.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 31 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
How do you display current date only in MS Excel?
Correct Answer: Option B — Today ()
Detailed Academic Explanation:
DATE - returns the serial date value for a date TODAY - returns today's date NOW - returns the current date and time TIME - assemble a proper time.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 32 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
How do you wrap the text in a cell?
Correct Answer: Option D — Format, cells, alignment
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Microsoft Excel can wrap text so it appears on multiple lines in a cell. We can format the cell so the text wraps automatically, or enter a manual line break. On the Home tab, in the Alignment group, click Wrap Text.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 33 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
What does COUNTA () function do?
Correct Answer: Option D — Counts non-empty cells
Detailed Academic Explanation:
COUNTA function counts cells containing any type of information, including error values. COUNTA function does not count empty cells.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 34 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
What is the short cut key to highlight the entire column?
Correct Answer: Option D — Ctrl + Space Bar
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Ctrl + Space Bar is the short cut key to highlight the entire column.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 35 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
In the formula, which symbol specifies the fixed columns or rows?
Correct Answer: Option A — $
Detailed Academic Explanation:
The absolute cell reference in excel is a cell address that contains a dollar sign ($). It can precede the column reference, the row reference or both.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 36 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Excel displays the current cell address in the ________
Correct Answer: Option C — Name Box
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Name Box refers to an input box directly to the left of the formula bar. The Name Box normally displays the address of the "active cell" on the worksheet. You can also use the name box to quickly create a named range.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 37 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
What is the correct way to refer the cell A10 on sheet3 from sheet1?
Correct Answer: Option A — Sheet3!A10
Detailed Academic Explanation:
First we use the name of sheet, then put an exclamation mark, at the end give the cell reference. It would be look like =Sheet3!A10
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 38 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which language is used to create macros in Excel?
Correct Answer: Option A — Visual Basic
Detailed Academic Explanation:
VBA (Visual Basic for Applications) is the programming language of Excel with VBA we can automate tasks in Excel by writing so called macros.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 39 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
Which of the following is not a term of MS-Excel?
Correct Answer: Option D — Document
Detailed Academic Explanation:
A worksheet in Excel is made up of Rows and Columns. Intersection of a Row and column in an Excel worksheet is a rectangle called as a Cell. Cells store a value, a formula, or text.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
Question 40 of 40
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
★ PPSC
★ FPSC
How many worksheets can a workbook have?
Correct Answer: Option D — none of above
Detailed Academic Explanation:
Excel does not limit the number of sheets, so it is only limited by available memory on your computer (RAM). This means the max number of sheets is higher on computers with more memory.
💡Key Conceptual Anchor:Ms Excel
✓Link copied to clipboard
Continue Your Practice
Advanced Mapreduce Concepts — Part 1
Master the next curriculum module with 40 exam-standard MCQs.
In competitive commission exams (FPSC, PPSC, KPPSC, SPSC, CSS, PMS), questions are frequently phrased with distractor options designed to catch rote learners. Whenever you answer an MCQ, read the Detailed Academic Explanation and Conceptual Anchor to understand why the remaining options are incorrect.